Cycle Of Infectious Diseases Determined By Natural History?

What are the different stages in the natural history of a disease?

Events that occur in the natural history of a communicable disease are grouped into four stages: exposure, infection, infectious disease, and outcome (see Figure 1.6).

How do infectious diseases get history?

Taking a complete history – learn from an infectious diseases master

What is the chain of infection in order?

The chain of infection, if we think of it as an actual chain, is made up of six different links: pathogen (infectious agent), reservoir, portal of exit, means of transmission, portal of entry, and the new host. Each link has a unique role in the chain, and each can be interrupted, or broken, through various means.

What does the natural history of a disease mean?

The natural history of disease is the course a disease takes in individual people from its pathological onset (“inception”) until its eventual resolution through complete recovery or death. The inception of a disease is not a firmly defined concept.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *